East African Book Development Association

Enhancing Literacy for Poverty Eradication


Print Email

Officials of East African Book Development Association

The Management Board

  • Mrs. Nancy Karimi (Kenya) - Chairman
    Mrs. Karimi is the Managing Director of Jomo Kenyatta Foundation, Kenya.  She is Vice Chairman of African Publishers Network (APNET) and former Chairman of Kenya Publishers Association and Vice Chairman, NBDCK.
  • Mr. David Kibuuka (Uganda) – Vice Chairman
    Mr. Kibuuka is the General Manager, Longman Publishers, Uganda.  He is the Chairman of Uganda Publishers Association, Board Member of APNET and the former Treasurer of National Book Trust of Uganda.
  • Mr. Abdallah Hassan (Tanzania) - Treasurer
    Mr. Hasaan is Senior Information Officer with the Economic and Social Research Foundation in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.  He is Chairperson, Tanzania Library Association and a member of the executive committee, BAMVITA.
  • Mr. Stephen Mugisha (Rwanda) - Member
    Mr. Mugisha is a lecturer at Kigali Institute of Education, Managing Director, Excel Bookshop in Kigali, a children’s author and President, Rwanda Book Development Initiative (RWABODI).
  • Mr. Alfred Kwizera (Burundi) - Member
    Mr. Kwizera is Representative, Macmillan Burundi and Chairman, Association Burundaise du Livre (Burundi Publishers Association).
  • Executive Secretary, Inter University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) - Member
  • Member of the corporate sector of East Africa (To be nominated) - Member
  • Ms. Ruth Makotsi (Kenya) - Ag. Executive Secretary
    Ms Makotsi is a publishing consultant in book development and a founder member of EABDA. She is also a published author of books on publishing and children’s readers.
News Updates
01 May, 2011
EABDA launched three new programmes in April 2011.
Quote of the Day
"The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it."
James Bryce
Book Aid International SIDA
hivos logo IDRC